Using entries on the Replication page
Entries on the Replication page represent items to be replicated, and their order in the list determines the order IBM® Lotus® Notes® replicates them. Each time you create a replica of an application, Notes adds the equivalent entry to the page. The first time you switch to any location other than Online, Notes may add other types of entries, such as outgoing mail entries, or call and hang-up entries, depending on the type of location and the type of mail you use in that location. You can create and add call or hang-up entries yourself at any time.

Here is information on what you can do with entries on the Replication page. Which entries you see depends on your setup.
Type of entryLocationsUseDeletable?
ApplicationAllTo replicate or open the equivalent application. To open an application, double-click its entry.yes
Synchronize ContactsYour Contacts file (usually names.nsf) is stored locally on your machine. However, you can store a copy of your Contacts in your Mail file. Then, to make sure that the copy stored in your Mail file remains up-to-date with the copy on your machine, you synchronize the two files. You must synchronize your Contacts if you want to delegate access to someone else so that they can manage your contacts for you.

If you use the IBM® Lotus® Domino™ Web Access mail client as well as the Lotus Notes® client, then synchronizing your contacts from the Notes client assures that both contacts lists are the same.

Before you can synchronize your Contacts, you must set a Contacts preference that enables Contacts Synchronization.

Send outgoing mailAny Notes Direct Dialup location (such as Home or Travel). Notes adds this entry to any location where you specify local mail use.To send all pending Notes mail messages from your local MAILBOX
Receive Internet mailAny location where you have an Internet POP or IMAP mail account
Send outgoing Internet mailAny location where you have an Internet SMTP mail accountTo send all pending Internet mail messages from your local SMTP.BOX
Local free time infoAllTo refresh Calendar information updated in your mail application. You can check the schedules of selected individuals from the busy time application, while you are working offline. Right-click the Local free time info entry and click Options. The Local Free Time Settings dialog box opens. From the drop-down menus, click the names and length of time you want to check, as well as how often you want to refresh the
Application templates (.NTFs)AllTo refresh the designs of template-based applications such as Mail and
CallAny Notes Direct Dialup location (such as Home or Travel)To connect to a Domino server.yes
Hang upAny Notes Direct Dialup location (such as Home or Travel)To disconnect from a Domino server.yes
You can customize settings for most types of entries on the Replication page by right-clicking (Macintosh OS X users, Ctrl+click) the entry and clicking Settings. For example, you can specify whether you want Notes to send information to or receive information from the server, or both. You can also specify a server to replicate with, and modify a full replica to become a partial replica.

When you're ready, you can replicate all entries, or any entries or folders of entries you select, by right-clicking (Macintosh users, Ctrl+click) and clicking Replicate Selected Application. You can also deselect entries in the Enabled column to skip replicating them temporarily.

For more information, see Replicating in the background.

Click any of the following:

To change the order in which entries replicate

You can rearrange entries on the Replication page so that Notes will replicate them in the order you want. Drag any entry to the position you want it. You can press Shift and select a set of consecutive entries, or press Ctrl to select multiple entries.

To keep a set of entries together so you can more easily move them, put them into a folder. Notes still replicates the entries in the same order when it processes the list; folders are merely for convenience. To see entries in a closed folder, click the triangle next to the folder. For further organization, you can drag folders into folders.

1. From the menu, click Create > Folder Entry.

2. Enter a name for the folder and click OK.

3. Select entries you want to put into the folder and drag them to the folder.

Tip You can use the type-ahead feature to locate an entry on the Replication page. Type the first letter or two of the entry you are looking for. Notes automatically selects the first entry beginning with those letters.


Go to top

To create a call entry

In a location type where you call Notes servers directly (Notes Direct Dialup), a call entry attempts to call the specified server and establish a connection. Notes stays connected to that server as it processes each entry on the Replication page, until it reaches another call entry or a hang-up entry.

If you use a passthru server, create a call entry for the passthru server at the top of the list on the Replication page. The passthru server call entry will probably allow you to connect to all the servers you need so that Notes can process all the other entries in the list without making additional calls. If there is a server that your passthru server can't reach, create a hang-up entry for the passthru server at the end of the list of entries and then add a call entry for the other server after it (the final call entry doesn't need a hang-up entry).

Note If you use a network server (Network Dialup), you might need a call entry for it. Ask your IBM® Lotus® Domino™ administrator for assistance.

1. If necessary, switch to a Notes Direct Dialup type of location (such as Home or Travel).

2. Click where you want the call entry. Notes adds the call entry immediately above the entry you click.

3. From the menu, click Create > Call Entry. By default, Notes creates the entry for your home server.

4. (Optional) To specify a different server, double-click the phone button on the call entry, select the server you want to call, and click OK.

5. Notes lists the servers for which you have already specified phone numbers. To add a server to the list or specify a different phone number, from the Replication page, click Actions > Server Phone Numbers.

6. You can replicate over a modem without using call entries. When Notes processes an application entry, it automatically tries to call the server the application last replicated with. If that server is a passthru server specified for all your application entries, Notes can stay connected with the same call until replication is finished.

Go to top

To specify the server to call from a call entry

For a call entry on the Replication page, you can specify a different server to call.

1. Click the Replication icon in the Bookmark bar.

2. Click the phone button on the call entry.

3. Select the server you want to call.

4. Click OK.

Go to top

To create a hang-up entry

You can create a hang-up entry that automatically disconnects from a server when you replicate over a modem. You need only one hang-up entry at the end of the list, even if you have more than one call entry. (When Notes reaches a new call entry, it automatically hangs up the current call.)

1. Click the Replication icon in the Bookmark bar.

2. If necessary, switch to a Notes Direct Dialup location (such as Home or Travel).

3. Click where you want the hang-up entry.

4. From the menu, click Create > Hangup Entry.

5. (Optional) To make the hang-up entry the last entry, drag the hang-up entry to the last position.

Go to top

To delete an entry

You can delete an application, call, or hang-up entry by selecting the entry, right-clicking (Macintosh users, Ctrl+click), and clicking Remove. However, if you think you may still use the entry though you don't want to replicate it at present, deselect it in the Enabled column instead of deleting it. When you delete an application entry in any location, Notes deletes the entry from all locations.

Note Deleting an entry for an application does not delete the associated replica. You delete a replica the same way you delete any application.

For more information, see To delete a application.

Go to top

See Also